What To Do if Someone Files For a Protection From Abuse Order Against You in Delaware County
When someone you have a relationship with such as a spouse, parent, girlfriend or family member applies for an emergency temporary protection from abuse (PFA) order against you, you will be served by your local police to show up for a hearing. You should hire an attorney because you are not eligible for a public defender at the initial hearing. If you represent yourself and are found guilty the court will make the Order permanent and you can face:
1. immediate eviction if you live with the Plaintiff;
2. you have to relinquish any firearms or license to carry to the Delaware County’s Sheriff’s Office;
3. the PFA will be part or your criminal record and may affect your ability to get future employment.
If you fail to show up for the hearing or violate a protection from abuse order, the Court will hold you in contempt and you can face up to 6 months in prison or a $1,000 fine or both. Therefore it is important not to contact the party that filed a protection form abuse against you. It is also very important to bring witnesses to the hearing who can testify on your behalf as well as any other evidence.
The longest a protection abuse order can remain in effect is 3 years. However, if there was a violation of the PFA and you were held in contempt, it can be extended until the end of the criminal contempt hearing and possibly longer.